Tuesday, July 09, 2024


Mindanao coffee farmers sweep PCQC 2023


Central Mindanao Newswatch - local newspaper

Share this post?

ILIGAN CITY — Farmers from Mindanao garnered all 12 winning entries in the Arabica category during Sunday’s awarding ceremonies of the Philippine Coffee Quality Competition 2023 held at the World Trade Center in Pasay City, according to announcements from the Department of Trade and Industry offices in the Northern Mindanao and Davao regions

Garnering the top prize with a cupping score of 86 was Manolito Garces’ natural-processed coffee, with cupping notes of pineapple, mango, black currant, and honey. Garces is from New Eden, Pangantucan in Bukidnon.

Second was Jhon Lawrence dela Cerna, of the Balutakay Coffee Farmers’ Association (BACOFA) in Bansalan, Davao del Sur, with a score of 85.75; third was Dione F. Ellaga, also of Bansalan, 85.41.

Fourth place was Junmar Gunayan, of the MILALITTRA Farmers Agricultural Cooperative (MILFACO), of Bukidnon, 85.03; fifth was Rogelio Gonzales, also of BACOFA in Bansalan, 85; and sixth was Arnold Pina, of the Bayanihan Millennium Multipurpose Cooperative (BMMPC) in Pangantucan, Bukidnon, 84.97.

Completing the top 12 were Rogelio R. Balacuit, of Amai Manabilang in Lanao del Sur; Cecilia G. Cavalida, Davao del Sur; Rosebele Sulatan, MILFACO; Cherry Gil Cabanday, Davao del Sur; Roquita dela Cerna, Davao del Sur; and Lendilou F. Loon, Davao del Sur.

Arabica coffee is considered the superior coffee and fetches higher prices for the farmers.

In the Robusta category, Ilocos Sur farmers dominated the competition, winning 10 of the top 12, according to the DTI-Ilocos Region.

First place was Vilma Lapasan, of the Tirad Pass Growers Association, Gregorio del Pilar, Ilocos Sur, with a cupping score of 85.22. Her coffee had notes of vanilla, pineapple, berries, and raisin.

Two farmers from Sultan Kudarat province also made it to the winning entries—Reyjohn A. Basco, 8th place; and Robert James Gacayan, 10th.

Second was Mabini Ubuan, of San Elias Coffee Growers Association in Sigay, with a score of 85; third was Juana Bitongan, also of Gregorio del Pilar, 84.38; fourth was Marietta Lidem, of Sigay, 83.94; and fifth was Jean Apalet, also of Sigay, Ilocos Sur, 83.5.

The rest of the winners from Ilocos Sur were Byron Daplayan, 6th; Silvestra Villegas, 7th; Erlinda Dao-ayan, 9th; Jordan Dalida, 11th; and Marielle Gannad, 12th. (MindaNews)

Related Post

MALAYBALAY CITY (May 27, 2024/PIA) – To stay informed about the most recent labor laws, more than 300 small business owners in Malaybalay City participated in the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE)-Bukidnon’s TAV (Technical and Advisory Visit) program on May 17 The labor department conducted a series of TAVs to assist small business owners...
VALENCIA CITY, Bukidnon – Some 3,097 farmers from Valencia City and the towns of San Fernando, Dangcagan, Damulog, Don Carlos and Kadingilan of Bukidnon province received fuel assistance amounting to P9.291-million from the Department of Agriculture – Regional Field Office 10 (DA-RFO 10) helmed by Regional Executive Director Jose Apollo Y. Pacamalan, on May 20,...
MALAYBALAY CITY (May 22, 2024) – The City Health Office (CHO) conducted focal prophylaxis for schistosomiasis in Barangay St. Peter, a non-schisto-endemic area This demonstrates a commitment to preventive healthcare and addressing potential health risks before they become significant problems. By conducting such interventions, they’re not only protecting the health of individuals in Barangay St....